Electronic Prescribing

10/17/2012 17:36

 

The moment I finished college was the happiest moment of my life, until I remembered I was probably most likely going to spend another four years in med school. The enjoyment I felt that day slowly started to disappear. However, I gotten over it and started to apply for some internship where I could shadow a health care professional for the summer. I patiently waited all week to hear back from them to determine if I got the internship or not. I finally heard back from them and I received the internship. I was extremely happy and ecstatic to start. My family threw me a small gathering to congratulate me for graduating, getting into medical school and also acquiring the internship I wished for.

I began instantly. I met the doctor I was planning to shadow, and he was really nice. He had also been very uptight. I notice he wanted things done his way or there'd be repercussions. The very first assignment he presented me would be to locate some kind of electronic prescribing he can use for his patients. I really didn't know what that had been. I assumed the best way to prescribe medications was on paper. I originally planned to try to ask more questions on where I could possibly find this paperless prescribing computer software, but if I wanted to be extraordinary I needed to take initiative and find this computer software without any help.

I began researching on the internet and found some very nice software program for paperless prescribing. When I was searching, I learned a little more about ePrescribing computer software. I discovered that it’s a simpler and more productive way to prescribe medicine to patients. With this software program, the doctor will be able to pull up your important information right away and send any prescriptions directly to the pharmacy. It is actually paperless and it saves the patient lots of time. Instead of dropping your prescription off and after that having to go back up to buy it, so now you’ll just have to make one visit to go and buy it. It’s also easier for the physician mainly because he could renew your prescription with only a single click. It's a win-win for everyone.

I showed the physician the software I found and he fell in love with it. He said to buy the software program as soon as possible. I needed to train myself to use the program because I assumed I had to show the doctor how to use it. It wasn’t too hard to teach myself because I’m a speedy learner, but it had been a little hard to teach the doctor. I had been very patient with him and he eventually learned how to put it to use. He was so excited about the prescribing software that he told his other colleagues about it. He kept bragging on and on regarding how easier his job is with this electronic prescribing software program. I could certainly tell he was totally fascinated and that made me very happy. I wanted to have an enduring impression on him and I am confident I attained that.

For more information, go to https://www.advancedmd.com/products-solutions/eprescribing/.