Sage One Spey Rod

08/06/2012 12:46

During our childhood my dad would always take us fly fishing. I remember it like it was yesterday, we would get up early Saturday morning get all of our things ready to go. As a young lad I looked forward to weekends, it was a moment for us boys to bond. I loved it. As I grew older I lost fascination with fly finishing and it just wasn’t cool anymore. Saturdays slowly turned into mornings I slept in from outrageous Friday nights. My father never said anything about it and he just continued going every Saturday morning together with his friends. He always told my mom he wanted me to love going and he never planned to force me. My dad would always claim that one day I will come back to it and adore it on my own. I eventually went off to university and started my life. It’s been 20 years later now and my dad sadly passed away.

I now have a son of my own and I just always imagined my son to grow up with his grandfather around but sadly this was not the case. So this got me wondering how I could possibly get my son to learn some things about my pops and I thought of fly fishing. What better way to bond with my boy and tell him stories about his granddad and my beloved dad. I knew my mother would love this idea because she's always showing my boy pictures of dad. The only problem is I haven’t been flyfishing in 20 years! Where will i start? So I go to my father’s friends to get some tips and they were more than happy to keep my father’s memory alive.

I was told that the single thing my dad swore by were Sage One spey rods. They are rock solid top quality sage fly rods, needless to say my father only likes the best. So I bought some rods plus some other materials. It was not as easy to obtain the rods they're in high demand so I needed to wait a while for my order to go through but when it did we were all set to go. Saturday morning came by and bright and early my son and I were out fly fishing. The sage one fly rods we ended up getting were amazing the best I have ever used. Considering I had been too young to remember I still would never use another rod.

We spent the whole day telling stories about my dad and how much of a great man he is. My son loved it and he loved hearing tales about his grandfather. It was a great day and I hope to make it an every week routine until my son starts wanting to sleep in instead of going out fishing with me. Then I will also not force him and hopefully he keeps my memory alive the same way my boy and I keep my father’s memory living every Saturday morning. I additionally hope he uses Sage One spey rods because they are the best rods. If my father says they are then you definitely sure know they will be the best. For more information on sage one spey rods, click here: https://www.caddisflyshop.com/sage-one-spey-rods.html